Welcome to The Jealousy Files!

jeal·ous·y  [jel-uh-see]  noun:

1 .jealous  resentment against a rival, a person enjoying success or advantage, etc., or against another’s success oradvantage itself.
2. mental uneasiness from suspicion or fear of rivalry,unfaithfulness, etc., as in love or aims.
3. vigilance in maintaining or guarding something.
4. a jealous  feeling, disposition, state, or mood.

 

The first time I ever remember really understanding the word jealousy was when I was about 5 years old. I was obsessed with the Sweet Pickles books and the J book, Jackal Wants Everything (the central character being Jealous Jackal) was read to me.  Up until then I was never really aware of that emotion (although I’m sure in my wild 5 year old mind, I was full of it). It’s was a weird feeling, to place a word with what I experienced when I saw my cousin with her giant, fully furnished Barbie dream house (and I had to suffer with only the Barbie convertible).

 

Fast forward 30 years. Jealousy is a tough little bitch to get rid of us. Instead of going away nice and easy, it’s hung on like a nasty barnacle on my soul. It’s more lecherous than me having a crush on Zac Efron and it’s more stubborn than a bout of herpes in the Jersey Shore house. Nothing I do makes it go away. So, I’ve decided to just embrace it. And categorize it. Because jealousy may suck but if it’s organized and filed…well, that’s just cool.

3 responses to “Welcome to The Jealousy Files!

  1. You are in my Google Reader, Jana!

  2. This is also definitely going in my google reader! Big fan of this site.

Leave a Reply

